PACKING



What are you doing?
Packing.
Why? When you aren’t moving?
I have to get ready to move. Besides, a house sells easier when it is empty because the people can see the house.
But if you put your stuff in the barn, then they can’t see the barn and what are you going to do if you want to use something that is packed away?
I’ll worry about it then.
Where are you going?
I don’t know yet.
I think you are doing it backwards. You always do things backwards. Why are you moving?
I love this house but it is too big to keep clean. I want to force myself to sell my collections by moving into a smaller house. I don’t need a barn or 11 1/2 acres or a house of 3500 sq feet. There is only two of us and my husband doesn’t take care of himself so I expect he will die soon.
What a terrible thing to say! But, I suppose it is good to be prepared. All your collections? Good grief! Why did you buy them then?
Because I was trying to buy happiness. I did get happiness for a few minutes but now we don’t have money because of it.
You are so cheerful today! You know how real estate is now. You will lose a fortune selling now.
I’ll feel lucky if I sell it. I suppose we could just walk away but then where would I live? As it is – we are buying down (I hope) and will have a down payment.
What about your dogs?
Well, I won’t pack them into the barn of course!
I mean your dog figurine collection!
Packing.
Your enamel cream and green and the utensils that match and the Glenwood Stove that goes with them?
Packing.
What about your white ironstone?
Packing.
Your mirrors and crystals?
Packing.
Your shells?
Packing.
Your capo-de-monte?
Packing.
Your fox-hunting items?
Packing.
Your books?
Packing.
Your flower pictures?
Packing.
There will only be furniture left. Are you sorting through the furniture?
Yep. Some, I’m packing.
Your jade flowers?
Packing.
Your antique maps?
Packing.
Your crockery?
Packing.
Are you trying to hide your life in the barn?
Might as well. No one knows I’m here anyway except my daughter.
Well, your husband certainly knows you are here!
Not necessarily but we won’t go into that.
Are you going to pack yourself into the barn?
Nah. Then who would I talk to? Besides, I have a reunion to go to on the 19th and someone has to take care of the dogs.
Oh. Well you missed a shelf of dogs up there.
Yes, better get back to work. After packing comes the cleaning. I do so hate cleaning because of my allergies.
True. I think everyone except your older sister hates cleaning.
Yes. She is in Alaska now cleaning for her daughter.
Well, it’s been nice.
Yes.

Leave a Reply

