Coming In On Two Wings and a Prayer


Well, I guess Karla and I are down to the wire here. This is the last day before flying off into the “wild blue yonder”. Please don’t be wild, yonder. Yesterday I kept myself busy by trimming the grass around the trees on my hands and knees until the battery died on my clippers (about two hours, which is good for two year old clipper batteries) and which gave me hives from something. I was happy to see that my huge decapitated dead tree had toad hiding in the holes between the roots and behind the grass. I don’t want to scare them so I always say “I don’t see you Toady but it’s going to rain so go inside. Usually when I peek into the holes there are 2 – 4 eyes peeking back at me. What I love are those teeny tiny toad that you see jumping around.
I clip the grass with hand clippers because I believe that weed whackers hurt the trees and cut the bark off. And yes, I hug them. (The trees, not the toads) I was in agony because FIVE (that’s 5) times the people in hard hats and baskets in the air came and amputated limbs (and a body!) in one year. These are very old and huge trees. The house was built in 1886. Wish I knew when the trees were planted.
Anyway, I picked out my outfits which I’m going to change today and then we went to get the Subaru which had gleaming new brakes. On to Walmart where I don’t usually shop but I really needed a one stop for everything this time. For six items, at the end I wished I had used one of those carts. I DO have to get my footsies fixed. (after I get back). Home again by 6 pm with the dogs thinking they had been deserted and were going to starve to death (I do hope Paul feeds them while we are gone). Then two short movies while I sorted through historical things that were in the vault at the Old Town Hall. Ewwww. Compost in the making.
Now today….what today? Some of my friends on Facebook are on their way to the show in Colorado and sending cheerful messages about their journeys. Do they have “cheerful” pills or something? Not sedatives to relax you but…I KNOW! When my older sister and I were little there was a patch of rhubarb by the swing set. We would pick some, take a bite and laugh ourselves off the swings! She lives at the homestead. I’ll have to call and see if she has some.
Karla is as calm as ever (pretty weird for a puppy less than one year old) and is sitting like a lion next to me. Perhaps it’s her tail but I’ve never seen an Aussie sit like that. Do you think perhaps she is part collie?
Can’t put it off any longer. I must get a-goin’ and start worrying and changing my outfits and getting out my list! Adios Amigos! When something goes over your heads you can look up and say “It’s a bird!”, “It’s a plane”, “NO! – It’s Superdog!!!”

2 thoughts on “Coming In On Two Wings and a Prayer

  1. Off into the Wild Blue Yonder huh? Relax and enjoy the ride. Does Karla go in her cage, as freight in the cargo hold, or in the cabin, snuggled up with you? When is the show? Well, I guess you will learn if she has some Collie in her due to an out of ordinary tail. Thought she has to be a purebred to enter the show. Wrong? Have a good flight; relax…..it’s only an airplane ride! What needs to be done with your “footie’s”? Not healing from the break? Snuggles & hugs,

    • Karla goes under the seat in front of me. The show starts Friday. I was joking….no collie in her; just an un-docked tail. As for my feet? I have no Idea at the moment. They both feel very bruised on the soles. Had x-rays and it had nothing to do with the bones anyway. Thanks for reading! Snuggles back at you.

Leave a Reply

