News from Huron, the Famous Resort City on Lake Ontario in NY (Meaning NOT New York City!


So, today is the day that I report to the courthouse to be “a potential juror”. I’ve only been worrying about this for two years when I got out of it because I was sick. Then, two months ago I got the dreaded letter that I had to fill out and return and then one month ago I got the summons and then today I have to be there by 9:15.
The good news is that at the moment it is not snowing. I think it is about 20 miles through the countryside and this has been a horrible winter for snow and of course I’m worrying about blowing snow because it is windy. I’ll have to bring my worry stone.
Paul woke me up on time. OMG! it was dark. I am so spoiled from not having to travel to a job. I get up, pick up the house, get dressed and start on the computer anywhere from 11:00 to 2:00 and only work to 5:00 or 6:00 then eat and iron, sew, whatever while watching a movie and then to bed. The dogs keep me on schedule. Like right now, as soon as I put on my sneakers, all four are lined up at the door because this week my Mother discombobulated me by have a stint put in and I’ve been out every day. Usually I dust the floor with my socks.
What to wear? Nothing formal, no rags, so I picked a sweater, skinny jeans and (believe it or not) matching sneakers. LOL! The sweater is yellow and blue, the skinny pants are blue and the sneakers are yellow and blue.https://aussiemagicvintiques.wordpress.com/wp-admin/media-upload.php?post_id=506&type=image&TB_iframe=1
What to take with me? A book, naturally I’m reading a big hard cover (Phelps and Gorham Purchase by Thomas), teeny weeny stickers for the book because I’m taking a teeny weeny purse, my license, my medical records, and, because I don’t worry, my DNR instructions, two Kleenex, my lorazipam for when I won’t take the oath because I’m a member of the Religious Society of Friends. I may chicken out on that one and a LARGE bottle of Jim Beam for the courtroom because I’m sure the Judge will need it. Oh drats, I thought I would get by the security check without having to put my stuff in a tray but I forgot about the keys. Should I leave my coat in the car so I don’t have to hassle with it? They confiscate your phones so I’ll leave that there. (Not that I ever use it which makes my daughter want to steal my lorazipam.
What a week. Mother is fine and I THINK I almost have a job as the Town of Huron Historian! It pays $.67 per day but I’m excited anyway AND I got my first Social Security check so I’m RICH! My husband is very excited that this will help him pay the bills (he thinks). I sort of celebrated by buyins some more dog-show clothes and shoes and entering Karla into some shows. And, knowing me, I called my handler (OMG he has grey hair now) to stand by for Syracuse and Springfield. The first two are matches and handling seminars so I can pretend I’ve never seen a dog leash before. This puppy is so shy! I took her over to see Mom and there were three other dogs there and my sister and brother-in-law and, as usual, we all have such similar views (not) that when someone started I about the Tea Party and Obama, Karla jumped on my lap and it was three to one and we argued to my coat and gloves and slipped out the door. I have to do some more research so I can back my opinions up. I didn’t even know who the Koch brothers were and I pronounced the entirely wrong way. Well, I should have known…Henceforth keep thy mouth shut on religion and politics! I’m going to be just wonderful working for the town! LOL! That is, if I live through this day or get picked for a trial that is 12 months long. Where is that worry stone???
As usual, my house is a complete disaster because the floor washer is broken and I ordered the parts 1/20 and they shipped them 2/16. I think I need to hire Billy across the street to use his plow in here. Karla’s favorite toys are the dust balls and she looks kind of like a wire fox terrier of a strange color when she comes up to me. I also need to go through Petfinders and pull the Aussies to list on Australian Terriers International. I should get RC involved in that. Some of those people really need his advice and vice versa but I’m not sure how much he uses Facebook. Another favorite place in Dunham Lake Aussies where Karla came from. I can honestly say that with the exception of four people they are my best friends. However, it isn’t time to worry about Colorado yet and stuffing Karla in the air pod. She isn’t going cargo even if I have to cut her legs and tail off.
Well, noodles, that’s the news and all the news from the Miller Zoo in Huron. Visits are allowed – $10.00 for adults and $5.00 for children. Beds and food extra. But, you ain’t gonna find Huron, NY, anyway. It’s in a black hole although it does have a web site AND MAYBE MY NAME WILL BE ON IT!!!!! They really like me a lot because of my mouth. That was my 10th application. LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

