Just Answer One Question, Would You?


Hmmmmmm. It looks like I never hit the publish button on my last blog so it also looks like you will have to read a bit longer. It also looks like “Edit” is not working so please bear with the typos. It’s probably this dumb new computer. But, if you are like me, you like to read anyway. At the moment I am reading a 1950’s book called the Mohawk, which is about the Mohawk River. I read the preface and learned stuff about my state already. I’m also taking an online course called “Canine Thereogeneology”. I signed up for the course just to find out what that word meant and it was free. It lasts 6 weeks and it is HARD. I didn’t know that dogs had so many reproduction parts!
Karla is doing great. She looks happy and bounces around and every day she has to go up to Spider (my Rat Terrier) to see how close she can get to her. So far, about a foot, then Spider makes a terrible face and walks away. Usually Spider mothers the puppies but it has been about 2 years since getting the last pup and Spider is 11 and mostly wants to sleep in the warmest place. I don’t like her getting old. She is supposed to last as long as I do.
Karla has encouraged me to groom “Sam”. Poor Sam. I’ve set up the grooming room in the laundry room and just push the table away when I’m not using it. Sam was the first to use it and it’s been quite a while since I’ve used my full array of grooming tools. I usually groom them Spring and Fall. I also used to groom Sam to look like an Australian Terrier becaue he is a very large Yorkshire Terrier cross so he had to pretend he was an Aussie. Well, I shaved everything except the tail (he doesn’t have one). Why would someone dock a tail on a mixed breed?). There was an awful lot of hair coming off but that’s usual. I washed him, and used the huge dryer that I could use to play air tennis with teacup poodles, went over him again to get the pieces I missed and blew all the itchy dead hair away and wallah! Standing there before me was a MinPin! Now, I have nothing against MinPins but I really like terriers. Well, I thought, longer blades next time.
Today I did HarryIt. She mostly looks like a Jack Russell (a long one) but I like to make her look like a wire fox terrier. Got the clippers and took one swipe on the head and she was bald there! OMG I had been using a 15 blade on poor Sam. I wondered why when he strutted by the girls they snickered and said “15”. Nothing I could do with a bald spot but I quickly put a 10 blade on (the higher the number, the shorter the cut) did her head and finished with a 5. She looked much better. I’m not used to dogs with tails and this time it was a great improvement over the last time when I made it look like a noodle.
Tommorow is Spider. All she gets are her nails and a wash and dry with the huge force dryer to get all those awful short hairs out (like labs). I have to do it with her hanging on to my neck. She’s a rat terrier that is shaped like an Italian greyhound with an undershot Boston Terrier face. And, she had papers! She was so sick when I got her that the first month she spent under my tee shirt. How many times have I told myself “do not go into a pet shop”. “Do not look into their windows”. “Do not look at the newspaper dog advertisements”. Go to AKC.Com and look up the breeds that you are interested, find their clubs and get some references. Or, adopt one of the breeds that you like. The clubs usually have adoptees listed.
Enough lecture. Today I started with the AKC (speak of the devil) because I realized that I could have made Karla’s name longer. Her registered name is “DunhamLake (that was her breeder) AristaMagic (Kennel name of the sire and of course Magic for my kennel name of Aussie Magic) Cheers to You”. You get it – the TV show Cheers with Karla? You have to pay $10 for any more letters. Well, dumb me could have used Cheers 2 U! So, after about 2 hours of looking at the forms to change a name and to get permission (other than oral) to use someone’s kennel name you are one million dollars poorer and insane by the time you finished. That took care of my morning.
Afternoon: I decided to finally ship my two packages. I had a defective cell phone to return before they billed me $500.00 and a print to send. As for the cell phone (or any other package) I always use Priority Mail because I figure that the longer the Post Office has something the more likely it will break. I recycle and use old boxes that have other labels on them. So I stuck labels over all the other labels and realized that I didn’t know the address to send it to because I covered it up. When I pulled my sticker up, it took off all the writing. But, smart me – I just put it to the mirror to read it! I always use USPS because it’s always easier to just do it online and have them pick it up. Usually. Of course they had rearranged their site, which they usually do, but I flew through it, paypaled the money and wanted a scan form and to do a pick up form. I did the pick up form for tomorrow and the scan form came through saying that the mailing labels and postage would be attached. Hello? I just got the scan form.
I just got a new computer, which is a very nice computer but everything is different and an instruction manual didn’t come with it. What’s new. Ads had been popping up from windows, McAfee, HP, etc to upgrage, buy the newest, etc so when the yellow bar came up on the bottom saying download mailing labels I didn’t read it and it went away and I couldn’t get my labels. Just like the government or the AKC there was no tab for non-receipt of labels, no FAQ for non-receipt of labels. But, they had 24 hour customer service…which was a robot and there was no number to press to get that answer or a real person. So I made my own labels and when the post office person comes to pick them up she can figure it out.
Last thing. I belong to Netflix (both online and CD) and one of my most favorite things is to watch a movie and do my quilt. Of course, tonight’s movie was in Norway language (what do you call that?) so it had captions and I couldn’t sew (LOL)
I’m taking a poll now. Is it me and my “electrical force” that causes all these things or does everyone else have them. Not occasionally, but all the time. My Mom says it is because I dwell on the bad things and don’t notice the good things, which is partially true. But then she just told me I look old so I don’t believe her. I would like to see some comments on things that happen to you like this so I don’t feel so lonely. Karla was good. She was born first and I knew I had a puppy but I didn’t dare hope or her head would fall off or something.
Let me know,
Noodles

Leave a Reply

