One Good Day Deserves Another


Ho Ho.  I actually had a wonderful day today with the good outweighing the bad!  It didn’t start really good but turned better.  Just as I finished dressing, thank goodness, and was just about ready to shoot out the door to go for my teeth cleaning, the telephone rang.  Now, I thought, what do I want to do best?  Answer the telephone or go to the Dentist?  HeHe, I answered the telephone.  Unfortunately, on the other end was an upset client (he was very polite about it but you can tell these things from the tone of voice) asking where I was and didn’t I want to come and look at his stuff or did I want someone else to get the pick of the crop.  I hastily opened up my date book and the only thing I saw was my dental appointment.  Flipping ahead I saw that I was to go over there next Wednesday.  Well, I quickly thought, which would I rather do?  Go over there and get the pick of the crop or go to the Dentist?  HeHe, I apologized profusely and got the directions and said that I was on my way.  I then called the Dentist who had a cancellation so that I could come in tomorrow at 9am.  Darn.  But, I took it.  Served me right.

It took about 10 minutes to get there and I only had to turn around once.  I knew when I passed the house because there was a terrible pile of stuff beside their trash barrel.  You see, he was an elderly gentleman who had just put his even-more elderly father into a home and he wanted to empty the house and get it over with as soon as possible.  When I drove in his son welcomed me at the side door, again I apologized profusely, shook hands with both of them and put on my professional face.  This was difficult because the clothing that I had put on (and didn’t think to change) was a pair of pajama bottoms and a short-sleeved t-shirt over a long-sleeved one.  Fortunately, I was very color coordinated so I just hoped that they thought that I was wearing grey striped pants.

He asked me where I wanted to start.  I have to explain that this is one of the hardest things for me to do in this job.  I don’t like to make an offer because I’m afraid it will be too low and they will be insulted but yet I’m afraid if I leave it up to them it will be too high.  Another thing was that I was acting like an antique dealer but I didn’t have much money.  So I told them that we could just take a tour and I would make a list of the things that I may want and then we could sit down and talk over the prices.  I listed 2 oil lamps and 1 hanging ceiling oil lamp that had been converted to electricity and a desk (I LOVE desks) and a grandfather clock that were all in the living room.  The son offered to wrap them for me but I explained that I may not buy them all and was just writing them down.  We then went down to the family room and I picked a box of books and odds and ends, an oak table with 8 chairs, a collection of canes (one was all glass and one had a long dagger in it), a collection of old pipes, a huge dresser, a brass scale, a transit (which I still don’t have any idea what it is), tripod and several maps that were rolled up (some cloth), lures, and fishing poles.  OK, so this was pretty fun since I didn’t have much money.  I do love to shop.  We then went back upstairs into one of the bedrooms where I picked some more books and two long bookshelves that when I looked closely saw that they were old school children’s lockers just like the ones I used to use.  Next bedroom an antique bed, a bureau with a tilting mirror and two pictures.  Next bedroom ,two antique mirrors (at which time the son said he would take them down for me and I said “no, no, not yet” , 9 more rolled maps then into the dining room for some funny old bottles, a Fenton cake plate, 2 frames,  25 bells (his mother had collected 100’s of them) and 2 paddles.  By paddles I mean the kind that “Dad” used on the sons behinds when they were bad.  Youchee!  Oh yes, I forgot my “memory jar” which was my favorite pick.

So, we both sat down and I went over the list thinking that I only had x amount of $.  So I offered him x amount of $ for everything and handed him the paper.  Geeze, I hate this part of my job.  He looked and looked and countered offered (of course because everyone has to counter offer, which is my problem because I offer right up front what I have) my x amount of $ + 200.00.  So, I said maybe we could take 200.00 off the list?  He said that it wasn’t a problem if I didn’t pay for a couple of weeks.  I blinked a couple of times, pinched myself to make sure I wasn’t dreaming and said OK!  I gave him what I had with me to cover the memory jug that I took, thanked them profusely after writing everything down and signing and he said he would call me as soon as he and his son came back and could help me move the stuff.

Now, I know that none of this has happened yet but I am wise and old now and I will pay for stuff as I take each load.  But I’m so excited that I have this years inventory!!!  I feel guilty that probably he could have gotten more had he taken the things to auction but I also have to realize that I need to make a profit and these are things that he will now not have to worry about.

I went home and then actually got through logging in all my quilts AND under the last quilt was my pair of slippers that I had been looking for all winter :o)  Now, can you beat that for a good day?  Woo Hoo!

Noodles

Leave a Reply

