Trust or How to Become Suspicious or What is a Bolster?


I think I’ve said it before and I’ll probably say it again but being a store proprietor/manager/sales person/peon is probably the WORST career path that I have ever taken because it plays on my defective “trust”.  Now, I’m not saying that is the only defective thing about me because I also have a broken “on/off” switch that goes from my brain to my mouth.  There ARE things that you can think of but that should never be said.  I just happen to have a mouth that works the same time as my brain and I don’t have a chance to hit the “off” button.  But anyway, back to the subject of trust.

Most of the time I run around moaning about what the world has come to and why is it that I am 60 years old and still trust everyone?  You choose:

1.  I’m a wee bit slow in the learning curve.

2.  I’m a wee bit stubborn in changing my thoughts and feelings.

3.  No one can be trusted and I’m just noticing it now because I’m in charge of Aussie-Magic Vintiques.

Since the snow has been floating down along with the temperature, I’ve been sorting through my books on antiques.  For me, the written word sinks in better than the verbal memory wise so I’m a big reader of both novels and non-fiction.  Most of my non-fiction consists of books on old glass, old china marks, old bottles, old postcards, etc, and, at the moment, old knives.  The reason for the old knives is that I picked up a batch (lot) of them at an auction and before I marked them all for $5.00 I decided to make sure that one of them wasn’t worth $1,000.  Also, when I sell online or in person, people tend to ask things like “how many bolsters does it have?”  In person I get away with not knowing the answer by smiling at them and handing them the knife and saying “here, why don’t you examine the knife yourself” but online I have to find out what the heck a bolster is.  I can either find out or I can send them pictures of the knife open and closed and from every possible angle so that they can see for themselves.  So, I got out the old knife book (by the way, I believe that the bolster is the piece of the knife holder that divides the blades) which brings us back to the whole “trust” thing.

In this old knife book they don’t describe the knives but have pictures and have copies of the advertisement that the knife maker would send to the dealer to encourage him/her (not probably)  to sell the maker’s knives.  I started noticing the display cases that the maker was saying would come with the company’s knives and also started noticing how they were “theft proof”,  “easy to get out from the back of the case”, “easy for the customer to see all the knives without having to handle all of them”.  And then, I noticed the warranties from the companies;  “guaranteed against breakage, rust, damage BUT the persons must send the knife back so that the company can prove that there was a crack after forging or that the knife had not been left out in the elements”.  These were all ads from around 1904.

“What?”, you say. “YES, from 1904!”  That is what I said!  People were actually dishonest in 1904!  And here all this time I thought that in the old days there used to be honest people with work ethics and a conscience.  BEEP, wrong again!  So, why, with the process of evolution wasn’t I born suspicious of people?  Does everyone have to personally get burnt to be suspicious or is it that slow, stubborn, “Rebecca of SunnyBrook Farm” defect in me?  So, I’m slowly learning and since I am 60, my husband is slightly disgusted at how slowly I’m learning and keeps asking when I’m going to start making money in the shop instead of just spending it.

So, I ask you.  Is it better to be slow, stubborn and innocent or is it better to be suspicious and have a gun under the counter, television monitors and one of those things that beep when you exit the door of the shop.  People do take all of those things for granted and don’t blink an eye about subjecting themselves to being filmed without permission and zapped when they go through doors so I guess everyone else has caught on.  So, why don’t they write books about how to become suspicious?  Really, someone out there could make a fortune on that.  They could give seminars and classes and speeches.  Go for it people!  I’ll actually buy your book if it doesn’t fit in my purse.  ;o)

Leave a Reply

